Board Members

Board Members

The Virginia Air and Space Science Center owes its success and direction to the Board Members that help guide it.  We work with an excellent cadre of Members that bring various perspectives and work experiences to our Board, helping us grow in the best way possible to serve the community and our mission. Through their guidance and direction, we can innovate, create, install, and present the work being done in our facility and through our outreach programming. 

Board members are listed by office held, then alphabetically:

  • L’Allegro Smith – President
  • Melvin Ferebee, Jr. – Vice President
  • David Holt – Secretary
  • John Cabot Ishon – Treasurer
  • Ross Mugler – Board of Directors
  • Brian DeProfio – Board of Directors
  • Steve Bond – Board of Directors
  • William Brown – Board of Directors
  • Michael Hamar – Board of Directors
  • Gaylene Kanoyton – Board of Directors
  • Stephen Miller – Board of Directors
  • Chandra Oaks-Garcia – Board of Directors
  • Mary Sandy – Board of Directors
  • William Saunders, Jr. – Board of Directors
  • Edwin Ward – Board of Directors
  • Miranda Subramanyam – Board of Directors
  • Stephen Cobb – Board of Directors

Honorary Directors Emeriti:

  • Dr. Lee Beach
  • Dr. George Brooks
  • Dr. Christine Darden
  • Andrew Fine
  • Gordon Gentry, Jr.
  • William Grace
  • Edwin Kilgore

If you are interested in serving on the Board, don’t hesitate to contact the Director, who will ensure your name gets passed to the nomination committee chair.